Diractions for jamming...?

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@classico)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone.
i'm new to guitar noise and somthing in the lesson arrangement puzzles me, i play classic guitar very sirously for three years now and i want to expend my skills to other styles as well, i tryed some of the easy songs and some of the intermediate which were great, strumming patterns and chords came real easy.

now, i'd like to tell you a short story.
i was at school and some friends asked me to come to a jam they were doing that night, i told them i don't really know how to improvise but they told me to come anyway.
that night i came to my friend's house, we were four: a pianist, a sax player, a badass drummer and me.
the drummer: "D minor everyone!" i managed to squeak somthing like "what the-" and everyone starts playing.
as the minuets pass i try desperately to play along... no luck. :cry:

that is my story. (hope you find it more amusing then i did at the time.)

i would like it very much if that won't happen again. and so i combed the lessons section hopeing that there would be a
"jam lesson", i don't really know what i should develope as a guitarist right know, because i figuered that jamming is somthing that's made of a few skills put together...

i would like it very much if you could give me a list of abilities (or lessons) that i should develope in order t build up that skill, cos i feel kinda lost.... :?

can't wait to hear your suggestions! :D

Classico

(@steve-0)
Noble Member

Well, first off all, realise that guitar players are always their own worst critics. I've been playing a while now and even though I know alot of people who think i'm a talented player, I still think i have quite limited abilities.

As far as jamming goes, it looks like you'll want to learn a few things: How to improvise well, learn scales and create a repertoire.