Skip to content
FRIED: Ever had too...

Notifications
Clear all

FRIED: Ever had too many songs to learn at one time?

25 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@corbind)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I have not been this fried out in a long time. Maybe since I started guitar in April '02. I've been playing in a band now for 9 months and it's been wonderful. The 4 of us would learn stuff at a reasonable pace and be ready for the next practice. We added another guitarist in July who's played for 25 years and he's competent and smart. He is finally comfortable with us and is starting to bring songs in.

Before Bill got in the band, the other 3 guys would say, “Let's try to work on X” and I'd get the lyrics and possible chords typed up. I'd print the stuff and we'd work on it. (The rest of the guys don't really type so I take on that responsibility). So I'd be the guy to do that job and it has always helped me learn songs better.

A couple of weeks ago Bill burned us each a cd with 9 songs on it. He said he'd like to work on the. I listened to them at work over and over to get an understanding of them. The rest of the guys (I don't think) bothered to listen. Oh well.

So the next week Bill comes in with 9 sheets of paper with the song words and chords he got from the Internet. The typing was small and it's obvious he just cut and past. He said he didn't believe/like many of the chords. Okay, so we all want home from that practice with the possibility of having to learn those songs. Nobody stepped up and verified the chords or arrangement, which the bandleader should have done. The following practice Bill's trying to teach us two of the songs and it was just hard to follow.

So it's hit-or-miss what we may or may not try to play at band practice. I spend my time working on songs that are suggested by the bassist and leader because I know we'll likely try to learn those songs.