Clear all

hairband

17 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i recently saw on a licklibrary dvd the instructor using a hairband over the strings to mute when using high distortion. i was just wondering is this normal practice, or if i pulled a hairband over the strings at a gig would any guitarist watching think it was poor practice?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

It's not really about distortion so much as high gain (which is one way to get distortion!). Using a rubber band or elastic pony-tail holder lightly over the strings near the nut does do a great job of muting open strings whose slightest ringing or noise a high gain set-up can turn into a monster nastiness. Is it a cop out? Some will see it that way; but even experienced players have been known to use the technique for that occasional tune for which there seems be no other way to quiet open string demons by the usual palm and finger muting. So if it makes a particular tune work for you, then why not? But don't turn it into a crutch that will keep you from learn to mute specific strings with your hands and fingers -- this is a very important playing skill.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

Victor Wooten does it.
He uses it right at the nut as a light mute, but he also plays around with it, sometimes sliding it to a harmonic for an interesting effect

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@xylembassguitar)
Trusted Member

if it makes a particular tune work for you, then why not? But don't turn it into a crutch that will keep you from learn to mute specific strings with your hands and fingers -- this is a very important playing skill.

Absolutely.