Skip to content
help me get over my...

Notifications
Clear all

help me get over my pointless annoyance!!

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

okay, so i started playing at the grand old age of 26 - and didnt know what alternate picking was until at least a year later (should have got a good teacher!!).

anyway, i always thought i would not progress to a decent level because i was too old to build up the dexterity and speed needed for a lot of playing. As a result i gave myself a complex and recently i have been working on my picking and - alternating between 1,3,4 and 1,2,3 patterns in runs along the neck, i now cleanly play nearly 8 notes a second.

All i need to know is, is that enough? i dont want to play shred, but is this fast enough for me shift the focus of my practice onto other things - like MUSIC!!
in other words, i dont want lack of picking speed to be my limiting factor when choosing what songs to learn - i want a new limiting factor to concentrate on, e.g legato, or fretboard knowledge??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

there must be something wrong with me. my procedure is backwards from yours. I learn songs first and then the technique needed for the song afterwards...well, sort of..
what good is it knowing flawlessly a bunch of techniques if you have no idea what to do with them.?
you need to get musical with your skills now.
apply your knowledge to songs.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

All i need to know is, is that enough?

Yes, most definitely. Get hold of your three favourits songs and start working on them

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"