Clear all

Lower Action

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@phillyblues)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

How hard is it to lower the action on an electric guitar yourself.

Reason I ask, my nephew has a Squire Strat that he brought over to my house the other day. I'm certainly no expert by any means, but I couldn't help but notice how incredibly high the action was on his guitar compared to mine and how much more difficult it was to play as a result. He's too young to spend the $$ to bring it to a guitar store for a real set-up so I'd like to do it for him but I'm new to playing myself and have never done any work on my own guitar before. His father, who also plays but is more of an occassional bedroom noodler, seems to think the problem lies with the neck itself, but I didn't notice anything unusual about it (ie. didn't seemed warped or mishaped, etc.).

Any feedback/guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks

(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

I'm a real beginner at doing a setup but unless it involves the nut (height of the nut or depth of the slot) it's not that hard but it does take patience and a little bit of a "delicate" hand (no ham fisted adjustments). After you mess with the adjustments you will at the end need to adjust (or at least check) the intonation and that will require a good electronic tuner.

There are plenty of sites out there on the web but one that I used when I was figuring this out was this one - http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/tutorial1.htm I would also google around for "guitar setup" and you will find a lot of pages and they will give you a different perspective and maybe different photos (sometimes that can be a big help). Dan Erlewine's books are also a good source - he recently came out with a new one. http://www.danerlewine.com/guitar_repair_books.html

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member