Notifications
Clear all

Help me Solo :)

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@cyrusocn)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone. I posted this awhile back but it got moved cuz it had to many different topics in it.

So my question is how can I write cool punk rock solos? My main problem is my solos never sound right with the song, and Ive been told it could be because I learned guitar from a blues point of view.

Thanks everyone!

You may find my appearance to be foolish,
But it is you who plays the fool,
For although I am only a student of the victim,
I have many many styles,
Try my choking style,
Hoo-ah!
-In Hell, Choking Victim

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It sounds to me like the trouble isn't that you've learned the blues scales first, it's that you're soloing randomly.

Can you imagine a great punk solo?

If so, great - now you just need to figure out how to play it. Seriously. Listen to it in your mind, hear how the melody rises and falls. Listen for the riffs - and listen to them over and over.

Now pick up your guitar, and play the riff. Hit a wrong note? That's GOOD! Now fix it. Was the note you played too high? Too low? Too soon after the last one, too late, too loud, too soft? Fix it. Play it again.

Sooner or later you'll have that riff down, and you've taken the biggest step towards soloing well in any style - connecting your head, ears, and fingers so they work as a unit.

So what if you can't imagine a great solo?

You haven't listened enough. Put on a favorite CD and listen to one cut several times. Now play a punk chord progression, and imagine a solo being played over it. Repeat that until you start hearing lines that 'fit', then go through the steps above.