Notifications
Clear all

Help with key of a song?!

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@matty0allan)
Topic starter  

Hi there I'm new to guitar theory and have learned a lot from this site and various videos. I was playing "She's Electric" by Oasis which include these chords;
E, G#, C#min, A, C & D. I know these chords are not all in a one key. I would say that this song was in the key of Emaj which include E, F#min, G#min, A, B, C#min, D#dim
So how can they play a G#, C and D and still sound good although there not In same key?! Thanks.
Matty

(@alangreen)

Yes, the tonal centre is E.

I wouldn't get too cut up about how some of the "out of key" chords can fit in and sound good. Any number of musicians will use such chords to add chromatic interest to a song, and if it sounds ok then just sit back and enjoy the song.

Try playing jazz one day - you'll be gobsmacked at some of the chord progressions you get there.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@matty0allan)
Topic starter  

Thanks for your reply, so there is not any rule of thumb to what ''out of key chords'" I can add to a key? Also would a E major scale be best to use to solo over this song?
Thanks

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

No, there is no magic formula about which chords to use. So long as it sounds ok.....

You can't solo over the whole song in E because of the dissonances with the out-of-key chords. Time to get experimental on that as well.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@matty0allan)
Topic starter  

Haha thanks! I'll definetly try.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member