Skip to content
How Are Guitars Bou...

Notifications
Clear all

How Are Guitars Bought Off The Internet?

17 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@mercymefan)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey,

I was wondering what people thought of guitars bought off the internet?

I've heard about stuff like musiciansfriend and what not.

My question, i've hard that people sometimes would rather be able to try the guitar in a store and pay 200 dollars more for it then save the 200 bucks off the web for maybe a little less of a guitar sound.

I'm wondering for some one like me (Self taught and not knowing alot about guitar sounds) would it be worth it to buy off the web to be able to get a bigger name and more likely good quality guitar or is it really better to go to a store to get one?

I know I would go find the mod of whatever I wanted to hold it and see how I liked it overall.

I hope this isn't to confusing.

And i'm strictly talking acoustic or acoustic electric guitars. No strait up electrics.

Thanks for any help and input :)

(@alangreen)

Buying off the internet means one of two things. Either you know what you want and you're looking for a good deal on it, or you're taking a bit of a chance on it being ok. Either way, you might still need to take it to the tech guy for a setup or to fix little irritations (burrs, proud frets etc). You also need to be very clear about the returns policy in case what you're buying turns up damaged in transit.

I don't think you can beat going down to your local shop and trying out a few guitars before you decide. I know some of the Japanese electronic companies are starting to charge the same price off the net as they charge in the high street to try and prevent you taking up a salesman's whole day and then getting it cheaper off the net, but not everybody's so evil.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk