Clear all

How do you avoid GAS?

26 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@doremifa)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I don't mean not eating beans... I sold my older stuff, bought a new Tele and used LesPaul. Now I'm a Gibson fan-boy and want to sell my LP (at a small profit) to buy a LP Traditional... LOL I can afford it, after selling my old gear I have $700 burning a hole in my pocket, I can sell the LP for another 700 easily.. I won't be missing much for my dream guitar.

I wouldn't feel bad if I was good at playing LOL... I thought crack was addictive. :(

Download a bunch of cheat sheets and posters: http://stevesmusiclist.com/

(@s1120)
Prominent Member

Well I avoid it by not having money to spend. :)

That being said, I did have a few things I realy wanted when I started playing. I know I wanted a LP of some kind, and also a acoustic. But I always enjoyed the sound of a resonator... so all those ended up in the fold. I was looking for a project one day, so I started building a Lapsteel... that was fun, and I have got a few yard sale junkys Ive played around with, or for the kids.. Well then I got to the point that any extra cash needs to go to learing how to play the things better!! So thats where my funds have gone the last year or so. that being said, Im realy getting to the point that the junky acoustic is starting to not do what I need of it. Ive progressed to the point that Im finding its shortfalls. So a nicer one has to enter the picture soon. I just havent found the right one, for the money I want to spend.. So I guess you never realy LOOSE the GAS... just control it.

Paul B

ReplyQuote
(@big-lar)
Estimable Member

You seem to be on the right track. There is no cure, all you can do is minimize the damage. Selling the old gear as you GAS is a good approach.

ReplyQuote
(@doremifa)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Well I avoid it by not having money to spend. :)