Skip to content
How fast ( metronom...

Notifications
Clear all

How fast ( metronome ) can you play a scale?

26 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

right, so 200bpm at quarter notes means only 200 notes per minute?
is that right?

sorry for sounding a bit confused, but that seems a little slow to me for a technical excercise like playing a scale?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

200 quarter notes a minute is a very fast tempo. Most metronomes will only go up to 250 BPM.

Play it in eighth notes, and you'd have 400 notes/minute. That's zipping right along.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

I can play 1258th notes at 1bpm. :roll:

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

The trouble with all this obsession with speed though, is that the first thing to suffer at speed is the emotional impact.

As an example, Hermann Li (Dragonforce) can play at a gazillion bpm and 200 notes per click but his solos don't move me. Sure, it's impressive that he can play that fast but I find his music sounds like the Eurovision Song Contest.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

i agree Alan - i just get a little confused with the terminology - but then there is also the aspect that "sometimes" a flurry of fast picked notes really adds to the musical effect.

i just would like to understand how fast i can play if needs be- and this thread has got me curious about how i can figure that out.