Notifications
Clear all

How to sound like Hendrix......maybe

24 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Jimi was self taught and couldn't read music. On the other hand, he was a genius.
Jimi once said, "people taught me. Experience taught me." So yea, he did teach himself. That was just him being Jimi. He did teach himself how to read music though (or so I hear), as on many songs he covered he used sheet music to learn it. He learned Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Club Hearts Band by era though.

I heard he performed Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band live the night it was released. :shock:

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member

jwishart77,

I know what you're going through. I've stumbled upon this myself. I don't think listening to Hendrix, and analyzing his songs will help you that much with music theory such as modes and keys, however. Like everyone said so far, he played what he heard. It doesn't necessarily follow any concrete scale or fall into any specific key. Some songs follow the circle of fifths or fourths, some combine chords in related keys, etc. You hit it on the head though with the minor pentatonic scale to matching chord though.

For example, if he is playing the Am chord in the progression, playing the Am pent. scale will sound good. If he is playing a G major, a G major pent. scale will sound good, but go beyond that. Also, a plain G major scale will sound good; that's how he gets some great sounds in Little Wing and Bold as Love.

^^ Try this out. Over a G chord, play the 2nd and 3rd fret of the G and B strings respectively, and hammer on the 4th of the G. The top 3 strings will look like this:

E-------------------------------
B----------3-------------------
G----------2h4------------------