Clear all

how to turn your classic guitar into folk guitar

14 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@itziks)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

i've been playing guitar for 2 years - so i know all the stuff about don't put steel strings on your classic etc...

somehow i compared two strings - acoustic and electric guitar strings - all d'ddarios - and saw that the electric guitar tension for the same diameter of string was about half that of the acoustic string of the same diameter.

then i went on to compare it with classic strings (nylon) and found out that the total tension of electring strings 008 - is less then the total tension of classic strings.

So now I'm going to change my classic guitar strings to electric guitar. I've allready attached it a pickguard - That way I'm turning my classic guitar to be 12 frets folk guitar.
How about that ?

Going on the same path - my next question is why not change the acoustic strings to electric ones since they will put less preasure on the acoustic guitar ?

Any thoughts about this would be appreciated.
For refernce I've put the total tensions of some strings sets - all destails from juststring.com in Lbs.

classical strings
-----------------

classic extra hard - 92.8
classic normal - 82.5

acoustic strings
----------------

acoustic 012 - 163.2
acoustic 010 - 135.1

electric strings
----------------

008 - 70.5 lb
009 - 85.2 lb
010 - 103.6
012 - 151.1

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

I'd never thought about electric strings on a classical. It will probably sound very tinny.

I'd look at silk and steel instead.

Acoustic guitars are built with the top designed to be pulled by a certain pressure from the strings. If you have too little pressure, the top won't vibrate properly and you'll get substandard sound.

Think about a tin can phone. If the string isn't taught against the bottom of both cans, no sound is transmitted.

ReplyQuote
(@artlutherie)
Noble Member