Clear all

improving

18 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@duffmaster)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I have been teaching myself guitar for the past four years. The last year or two I have practiced for at least and hour or two a day, save a few when I just don't have the time. Theres only one problem.

I'm no better than the day I started. I can't play one song through without screwing up. My left hand and right hands don't work together. No matter how much I read online or from theory books I don't pick anything up. All I can play for scales is the blues scale and shuffle. I love music. I listen to almost everything except for country, R&B, and rap. I love metal and the blues. My technique doesn't ever seem to improve. I constantly mess up any alternate picking, and when I even attemp sweep picking i just end up muting strings, etc. Recently, my lack of skill has me so frustrated I walk away from the instrument upset. Isn't the guitar supposed to be fun? When is all my practicing going to pay off? Why am I struggling to play effective?

Who needs a signature?
I mean really...
It's almost always lyrics...
or a cliche...
or garbage about me...
Lets just save YOU from the pain, ok?

(@off-he-goes)
Noble Member

Don't take this the wrong way, but have you ever considered a break. If you take a week or two off from guitar, you're probably going to miss it, and when you get back at it, you'll once again love it, and it will be fun to play.

Technique does take a relly long time to devolp. Take things slow, just because you've been playing for four years does not mean that you have to be at a certain level. Sure there are people who been playing for 30+ years that aren't really happy with where they are in their ability, but they still play, and have fun doing so.

So, I think that you should just take a break for a short while, and come back with a new sense of what you want from the guitar.

Paul

P.S. Welcome to Guitar Noise, by the way!