Notifications
Clear all

Introduction

15 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@karl-78)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone, I just found GN a couple days ago in an effort to rekindle my desire to become a better player. I have been playing since I was about 16 (10 years ago) and I still consider myself a novice. To think where I could be now if I had taken lessons. But mainly for financial reasons I tried to teach myself which hasn't done much for me except I can play some songs from tab. I also never got much experience playing with others because I never had a real amp (again, financial reasons).

So here I am, I want to start practicing for real but I still can't afford to take lessons. I am hoping that being immersed in this site will help keep me motivated lest I neglect to practice for months on end AGAIN. Up to this point I have just learned whatever songs I liked that I thought I could play from tabs, and then I play them....that's the extent of my practicing. I know about a dozen chords (I know that sucks) and I'm sure I don't know how to use them properly. Scales are confusing to me but I try.

Anyways I hope I get to know some of you and maybe some of you can relate to my situation. Any advice will be graciously accepted. Thanks.

Karl

(@hueseph)
Noble Member

Welcome Karl. I hope you find what you're looking for here. Theres a golden key that I think every aspiring guitarist stumbles upon, eventually, that makes you say " Right! Of course! Now it all seems so simple." I think that you can find that at this site for sure. There's tonnes of tutorials and lots of open minded people. Check out the easy song database and by all means ask a lot of questions. Somebody will help you. I know I've learned plenty from the people at this site.

https://soundcloud.com/hue-nery/hue-audio-sampler

ReplyQuote
(@steveobouttorock)
Estimable Member