learning mandolin

22 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

I have been playing the guitar for 5 years, or so and I was thinking of picking up a mandolin and adding a new sound to our jams. I (possibly incorrectly) believe that it should be a relatively painless switch. I was thinking that after a couple of weeks I should be able to play an easy version of most of the songs I/we play.

For anyone out there with experience - am I dreaming?

Cheers,

Max

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Lots of similarities, of course. Wood and strings and plectra. ;)

Keep in mind that mando tuning is in fifths and is upside down (GDAE) relative to guitar, so chord shapes need to be inverted. Same thing with scales. But I definitely found it easier to pick up mando because of my guitar playing knowledge, limited as it may be.

String tension on a mando is almost the same as on a 12-string guitar, so they can actually be difficult to fret cleanly when you get started. Pick attack is also different, as you are playing two strings at once. And the neck is held like a violin neck, rather than like a guitar neck.

Now, in bluegrass, the mando is generally more of a percussive instrument - mando "chops" and bass drive the rhythm. A little different if you're doing "Celtic" styles which I prefer, where you're often playing fiddle melodies. (I'm making generalities.)

Technique is different in the use of tremelo picking, very common with mando, not so much with guitar. Similarly, string bending isn't too common with mando.

There's a lengthy discussion on the MandolinCafe forum titled "How to not play mandolin like a guitar" that's worth a look:
http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?s=aca77992ad51e95e6beae68639e8c49e;act=ST;f=25;t=45145

I like the comment, "They are two very different instruments separated by a common pick." 8)

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member