Clear all

Mics

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@lazerkrust)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey all, I'm new to these forums. In fact this is my first post. If I'm in the wrong forum area, please don't get angry, just tell me where to go.

I need advice on microphone systems. I have no knowledge whatsoever about the subject. I'm currently in a "garage band" and we have the necessities with one exception, microphones/speakers for the mics. What I want to know is what is a reasonable priced mic system, but can also be heard with/over the drums/guitars/bass/etc.

If you know any such equipment, it would really be appreciated for your input. If you don't know of any equipment, you general knowledge of microphones/speakers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Are You Ready?

JoeP
(@joep)

I've been lurking on the forum for a couple of months now having only recently decided to learn to play but I have had some experience in this area so here goes...

You may get more info over in the Live Sound forum. That looks like the place for the info you're interested in (i.e. sound reinforcement).

Basically, you'd need a set of PA speakers – usually on stands – to project either just the vocals or a mix of the vocals and the instruments. You'll also need a mixer (I'm partial to Mackie), amp(s), mics, and cables.

Some friends have a band and they mic their guitar amps and run them through the main mix rather than using a DI box to only route the guitars to the mixer. The drums are digital so go through the mixer directly (IIRC), except for a possible monitor speaker for the band/drummer.

If you're routing everything through the main mix, you'll probably want a monitor setup (monitor speakers, possibly an amp, and channels on the mixer). This also helps the singer(s) hear how loud to sing in relation to the mix.