My dillema

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 Kyle
(@kyle)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I'm in High school. I'm 15 and I am 99.99% sure that music is my calling. It is the only thing I can see myself doing for a living, day in and day out, that I would actually enjoy. I have been playing the oboe since i was 10, and guitar since I was 13. I am fairly good at oboe, much better at guitar, and I would also consider my theory to be exceptionally strong for my experience level. I want to pursue a career in music, but I want to be able to support a family as well. I have several questions for all of you who have "made it" in music as a career. Just so you know, my personal best case scenario is to attend Berklee College of Music, attain a performance degree, attain a PHD in music theory, and then become a moderatley popular guitarist as a part of a progressive metal/rock band. Then, I'll retire from my rock star lifestyle and teach privateley. Of course it probably will not happen, but that gives you a sense of what my deepest desires are as a guitarist.

1. The music program at my school is exeptionally weak. I try to take classes elsewhere and take advantage of what little they do offer here, but I am worried that the lack of oppurtunities is hurting my aspirations. I am strongly considering a school switch. In your experience, will it matter if my school has a terrible music program or not?

2:Like I said, I want to have a career in music, but I need to be able to support a spouse and possibly children. What kind of positions will provide enough income to do this? I realize teaching and studio musicians are 2 that privide a somewhat steady income, but are there others?

3: Any other good music schools that I dont know about that I should look into? Berklee, New England Conservatory, Ithaca (NY) college, GIT, and UMASS Lowell are my top 5, but what are some others?