Clear all

Nashville Tuning and "Dust In the Wind"

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@thedude)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

It has been so long since I posted on this board, I had to rejoin! I have been lurking here for a while though. First, I will re-introduce myself.

My name is Justin and I am 18. I will be a sophomore in college this fall (starting a summer course tonight though ). I have been playing the guitar for about seven years. I play left-handed. My first guitar was a standard Epiphone electric (pictured below). A couple years ago I got an Ibanez acoustic-electric (pictured below). I have plugged it into my amp no more than five times. I love the sound of an open acoustic. I have been mainly finger-picking on the acoustic. I have even grown my nails long! When I do not use my fingers I use the same pick that I have been using for seven years.

My main hobby is old cars. I have a '65 Ford Mustang, and '65 Ford Galaxie 500XL convertible, and a '53 Buick Super. I was doing some engine work on the Mustang last night and I found out that long nails and auto mechanics do not work well together, but I think I can manage.

The question that has prompted me to make this thread is about Nashville Tuning. I have been practicing "Dust In the Wind" by Kansas and this song was done in Nashville Tuning. I did not know what that was so I just looked it up. It seems I need some strings that are for a twelve-string guitar. Is there anyway to get around this? I am not going to change the strings just for one song.

Thank you!

Justin :wink:

What the hell am I talking about? I did not have to rejoin. I think that was another forum. :oops: :roll:

http://pic6.picturetrail.com/VOL174/2016453/3903966/98827354.jpg

(@artlutherie)
Noble Member