Skip to content
No Sense of Beat or...

Notifications
Clear all

No Sense of Beat or Rhythm - Can Anyone Help ?

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@sophial)
Topic starter  

Hello all,

I'd be very grateful if anyone could offer help with my complete lack of sense of beat or rhythm. Here's my story:

I'm a middle aged bloke and I'm not a total beginner, in fact I've been having private tuition (1 hour every 2 weeks) for longer than I care to remember. I'll admit that with a family and work I never do the practice I should do between lessons, and the practice I do isn't of sufficient quality - but I do some practice.

My huge problem is my lack of sense of beat or rhythm, so much so that half way through this weeks lesson I was tempted to call it quits. If my tutor were to ask me to be able to play the shapes of the A minor pentatonic at 90 bpm for the next lesson, then that wouldn't be too much of an issue, but I've lost count of the amount of songs I've started to learn at lessons and never got past the first couple of bars because I just don't 'get' the rhythm - I even find it hugely difficult to listen to a song I'm learning from a CD and repeat it or play along to it in terms of rhythm.

For the last few lessons my tutor has gone back to basics - for example giving me some chords (perhaps A C D G) and asking me to play the chords to the rhythm of my choice, all I can ever think of is strumming chords at different speeds - quick quick slow quick. He will then play the chords to a rhythm that sounds great, and ask me to copy it - without fail I never can.