Notifications
Clear all

Not learning songs! Grr....

16 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@clideguitar)
Reputable Member

First off, I'm very lucky to play with a professional musician. He does all the singing, so I just get up and play rhythm with him.

I started out with 4 songs and have worked my way up to 12. I know allot more songs than this but we don't have time to get together. The only time we really have is maybe 5 to 10 minutes before he starts playing. So I work on the songs myself and if I have questions I'll call him or ask him before he plays. Before I start practicing a song I make sure I have the chords right and if I need to CAPO. Usually, I already know from watching him play. “Paint it Black” was one, before I started practicing it he reminded me that the 4'th verse is a single strum for the first 2 lines.

He has given me a set of CD's of all the songs he knows. So, I always use these in practice. The hardest part is when a song goes into a solo with no verbal queue. That's usually when I have to ask him what to do or how to work it out. If it's not on the CD's I'll go buy the music because he plays it almost exactly (not always though) as the recording. “Saving Grace” was one, a new Tom Petty album (“Highway Companion”).

So I approach it this way:
1. Hopefully I have a correct TAB, and will play with the recording.
2. I always practice the way I'm going to play. For instance, I have a barstool that I always bring with me and play (and practice) on that. I have practiced standing up but I have a problem with the guitar bouncing. Hopefully I'll get past this, because the day will come when I'll need to do this. Since he sits on a bar stool I thinks it's OK if I do the same. If he's standing, I should be playing the same way.
3. I keep practicing with the TAB until I get through the song two or 3 times with no mistakes.
4. Then, I practice without the tab and play with the recording. If I get through the song 2 or 3 times clean then I play it with him.