Clear all

Question for any violinists

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@steve-0)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I've been interested in getting a violin and learning how to play it, I've seen a couple at the music store that were used and cost very little. Since I don't want to get ripped off, I was wondering if there are things I should look for like shotty bridges, bodies, etc or things like that. As well, I'm new to playing the violin... I've played the guitar for about 7 years and the drums for about 4, is there anything important i should realise about playing the violin? any help would be greatly appreciated (sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this).

Steve-0

(@gjbrake)
Reputable Member

Hey Steve-0!

I play violin (or maybe I should say used to play, as I haven't picked it up for a year or two now).

The first thing I would say, as a word of caution, is that it's not like guitar, where someone can learn three chords and be off playing loads of songs. You will sound crap, for a long time. I would say I didn't really play anything I was genuinely pleased with for a year, and even then it was very basic.

BUT - after a few years when I got a sweet violin and actually had some skills, it was SSSSOOOOOO worth it. IMO it's the most beautiful sounding instrument when played well - and loads of fun to be creative with.

Anyway - to actually answer your question:
For a first violin, you needn't be TOO concerned with quality. I mean in terms of scratches on the body etc. I once stood on my first violin (don't ask!) but after repair it was just as good, even though you could clearly see where the neck had snapped. If you were to try and spend the money now on a really good quality one, you would only be discouraged by your inability to make it sing.
The two things you will want to look at are bridge and bow.