Clear all

New to electric

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@occredneck)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey I am new to electric and need some help...
I have a Laney amp and cheap ephiphone I got for 200.
The guitar does not stay in tune and when you go to tune it it jumps sporatically. It has the whammy bar, so is that a tremlo bridge? Would I benefit by changing the tuning heads?
Also I am a huge dead fan...Jerry had his "Tiger" Setup with these amps
http://dozin.com/jers/guitars/tiger/info.html
The only problem is that I have three single coil pickups and he used humbuckers in the middle and at the bridge. Can I still make my guitar sound like his. What pickups would get me near his sound?
And lastly, would it just make sense to get a better guitar than spend all this money on a crappy guitar?

If the river was whiskey and I was a duck, I would swim to the bottom and never come up. (Traditional Lyric)

(@moonrider)
Noble Member

The guitar does not stay in tune and when you go to tune it it jumps sporatically.

It has the whammy bar, so is that a tremlo bridge? Would I benefit by changing the tuning heads?

Take it to a reputable guitar shop and have them do a setup on it. It sounds like you strings are grabbing in the nut. The bridge will probably need adjustment also. Should cost about $40 US.

Playing guitar and never playing for others is like studying medicine and never working in a clinic.

Moondawgs on Reverbnation

ReplyQuote
(@bstguitarist)
Reputable Member

For the tuning, if your using your tremelo bar, then that would be the main culprit in the de-tuning. if not, then it could be the way you wire the strings with too many winds. if thats not the case, then the only thing I can think of is that its the tuning heads.

Good Luck!
Bstguitarist,
KB1LQC

No matter what anyone says, these four men were the Innovators! of modern Rock & Roll!

Morse Code... Music on it's own

ReplyQuote
(@occredneck)
Trusted Member
Topic starter