Right hand technique

15 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
 lars
(@lars)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

When I started playing el guitar after many years of acoustic playing I realised that something was terribly wrong with my right hand. I have problems alternating between strumming full chords and picking single notes. Never having had a teacher, I have figured out things myself always.

Yesterday I was so lucky as to spend a few hours together with a GN member residing in Oslo for some time. He quickly realised that I'm holding the pick too lose and too far out between the fingers, positioning the hand far away from the strings and with the pick at a strange angle too. This has worked OK always for strumming and simple picking, but I notice that I have tended to reposition the pick when switching between different styles of playing. Now it feels almost like starting all over again...

New pick / hand position feels *weird* but it is immeadiately clear that it enables me to do things I haven't been able to do before. I think closeness to the strings and using also the thumb/index to move the pick are parts of the clue for me here. He also gave me a "worst case" alternate picking excercise and lots of additional good stuff for practicing.

Will give it a serious try for some time - I feel I may end up as a totally new guitar player!!

So, thanks Andy, if you are still around here!!!

Lars

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

(@terminator)
Reputable Member

Its amazing how in plaing guitar, a simple change of technique can help you play better(or worse in some cases! :lol: ),but obviously better in your case Lasko. Glad you had someone to help you!

"No pain No gain!"- The Scorpions

ReplyQuote
(@lucam)
Eminent Member

So please share the exercises with us! :)
I think I'm having the same problem...

ReplyQuote
(@richw)