Skip to content
self-taught guitari...

Notifications
Clear all

self-taught guitarists: need your help. IMO!!

11 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@jacoinmalawi)
Topic starter  

hi guys. ive been teaching myself guitar for about 4 years. (i'm almost 16.) ive been progressing pretty slowly over the years cause i didnt have internet until the beginning of this year. i started to play really seriously about 6 nmonths. ive got a good grasp of diatonic stuff and very little chromatic stuff. ive learnt most of the stuff on the web(i think).

so my question to you is, how did you practice, whats important whats not, howw important are songs? how long did you study one area then move on to the next? hope this isnt to much.

any help on practicing, your method of studying, etc. would be really really appreciated.

thanks guys|gals

(@Anonymous)

First jacoinmalawi Welcome to GN! Secondly, We're not really "self-taught" since we rely on lesson's found in books, web, etc. We're more "self-motivated. As for what's important is really up to you. What are your goals for the guitar (make money, write songs, just play covers, hobby, etc)? The answer will determine what you should concentrate on. For myself, guitar is just a hobby...I am not really interested in playing in clubs or getting a recording contract. It has just been a dream of mine since I was a kid. I am 40 years old and have been playing 14 months. I may someday get together with other musicians and jam but for now my 4 walls are my only audience (and in all honesty, my only friends).