Notifications
Clear all

Semi-beginner questions

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@elmer)
Topic starter  

Hey guys, if this is too basic of a question, I apologize in advance. In the next few weeks I am buying a new (or used) electric guitar. I have been playing acoustic for many years. My choice is narrowed between a Strat, Telecaster, or Les Paul. My music preferences range from ZZ Top to Johnny Cash to the Stones. I would welcome input on guitar choice. I am looking to spend not over $700 (hopefully). I am not in a band or do gigs, but just jam with friends in our home. I don't see myself doing a gig.
Also, where in Dallas Texas is best store to buy a new guitar ?

Also, I played with a Crate Amp yesterday and would welcome input on a amp for home and fun use. I like the special effects of a Crate amp would like to hear thoughts about that. My partner plays an 60's Fender Twin Reverb. He thinks I should go with an old tube Fender amp. Thoughts ?

Thanks,

Elmer in Dallas 8)

Elmer in Dallas

(@alangreen)

Well, you can't really go wrong with any of those guitars, and people I've hear using Crates say they're really good.

Ultimately, it comes down to which guitar feels right to you; so go and try out a hatful of each on a bunch of amps.

Can't help with the shops in Texas. Soz.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

ElecktraBlue and Marvelous Optimist can help you with stores....

I'd go with the Tele, but it's just personal preference and the fact I already have a strat and an SG.

ReplyQuote
(@rsadler)
Reputable Member