So how do I really get better?

12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 edub
(@edub)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for 10 years sporadically on an acoustic which is what I like. I can play all major cords proficiently and listen to a song pretty much figure out the chords and rhythm. I've had focus issues going back and forth between playing and singing and learning lead. I've finally figured out that I'd like to do both, I can play and sing and don't have a great voice so getting better at guitar is the main focus. I play mainly country or "Texas country". I'd like to make the guitar part less boring and I don't do well with books or reading music.

The teacher's in the past (5 years ago) have had me bring in songs and taught me how to play the basic version of the rhythm. How do you approach a teacher and tell them you want to play better and more advanced, or do you just have to shop teachers until you find one that sells what you are looking for?

(@s1120)
Prominent Member

How do you approach a teacher and tell them you want to play better and more advanced, or do you just have to shop teachers until you find one that sells what you are looking for?

Well its your dime... If the teacher is not showing you what you want, tell them. Its your lesson, not theres. If thats not somehting they will/can do for you, you need to keep shopping.

Paul B

ReplyQuote
(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

Shopping teachers is always good advice.

Let me add, expand the types of music you play. Try jazz (Charlie Byrd does it well, so did Django) on an acoustic, or classical, or blues. Anything you are not familiar with.

The cross-pollination from other styles of music will most likely improve both your skills and your "Texas Country" playing.

Also start seriously listening to other types of music that you are not familiar with. Listen until you understand them. Your ears are your most important musical instrument.