Clear all

Some Blues gear around here - Little Amp talk too

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

In light of today's prior and ongoing amp discussion, namely that the Blues Deluxe can be too loud, which it is ... I put together a little collage of pics again, because I must have nuthin' better to do? Whatever, I really want to recommend that you can power soak these amps and fully agree that any player could go for an Attenuator by tedweber, yes that would probably be the best, to make these Fender tube-types scream, or sound as if they are saturated at lower garage and practising volumes. I don't do it myself, because I already have smaller solid state amps, namely the Danelectro Nifty Fifty and a Roland Cube with FX which seem to do that, with next-to-no-volume. And I'm just a serious hobbyist, not a pro, with any skill or dough. :shock: Uhh... my explanation could probably stop right there, if that's all we needed to know. :lol:
But I'm very serious about tone and hope that sharing some details is what this forum is about? So, to begin with in this mini-gallery, I modded a fairly old, unused MIM Strat which looked like Blackie, I guess when Blackie was new, whoo hoo, and turned it Black & Blue. Name's "Bruiser". I designed the 2 outside pickups, had them made in New York, coincidentally near the source of the centre stack, which is a DiMarzio Virtual Vintage, probably HS2. It has volume and master tone, and a toggle to give 10 different sounds altogether. Enuf of that - I love the Blues Junior 15 watt amp with a 12" speaker, it can be cranked and screams like a banshee, and never dies. It is not modded. I don't want to break a single solder inside, it is a fairly early model too. If you wanted to mod one and get better tone at lower volumes, Dan Torres at Torres Engineering makes the kit/conversion.