Clear all

Songs for jamming....

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@uke42)
Topic starter  

So....
I've got a party planned for next month, (graduation, yay!) and It's going to be a music party where the people who play/sing are going to bring their gear and we'll (hopefully) collab. and play something nice-soundin' for all in attendance. Pretty informal, in my backyard, nothin' fancy. Now, because I don't want this to turn into four hours of us sitting in a circle, going "I dunno... what do YOU wanna play?" I figure that I had better have some songs with chord sheets in reserve in case we get stuck.

Since this is my first time hosting a jam session, I was wondering what songs would be good choices?

There should be a wide range of levels and playing styles attending this shin-dig, from semi-pro jazz guys (piano, sax, trumpet) to young kids in school band, to kids who play resonably well, to parents, and those just learning guitar. I need a variety of songs so that no one feels left out.

Thanks in advance!

-uke

(@forrok_star)
Noble Member

I would narrow it down to having idolized progressions and easy turn around progressions. The one's you know at one time or another everyone heard sometime along the path of life.

I use a laptop just for than reason. I have a ton of songs on there anything and everything, covering all the different style's. I have sheet music, tabs, lyrics, you name it, including Mp3 tracks of just rhythm guitar doing idolized chord progressions to real songs, and complete backing tracks covering all styles. Then with Adobe audition installed and all the loop tracks allow for instant original material also.

Use to be hauling in a case full of cassettes, tape player and big box of sheet music. Then spending half the time looking and digging through everything for a song. .

Joe

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member