Notifications
Clear all

The cursed blessing of tabulature

115 Posts
25 Users
0 Likes
11.4 K Views
(@comfycan)

I'm a total beginner (again; aborted 1st attempt in high school--now I'm trying again at age 45). I picked up an instructional book/dvd last week that starts with the usual note progressions on strings 1 and 2 (E,F,G,B,C,D). The book showed only standard notation for the practice songs. It was slow going, but I was getting it.

Yesterday, I picked up a second instructional book/dvd that begins with essentially the same material, but includes both standard and tab notation. It was amazing to me how much faster I can play, with fewer errors, using the tab rather than the standard notation. The brain has much less work to do when playing tab. Just for kicks, I skipped to the back of the book and tried playing a few of the hardest songs. With tab, I could actually play them, albeit slowly and poorly. The standard notation, of course, looks like Chinese for the harder songs, because I haven't learned any of the chords in standard notation yet.

It was also clear to me that tab alone does indeed limit understanding of timing, among other things. Yet, it is VERY tempting to just ignore the standard notation and play the tab. I've always enjoyed immediate gratification. 8)

For the moment, I remain committed to at least trying to learn standard notation, but we'll see.

I've been thinking of buying Guitar Pro 5 because I understand it shows both tab and standard for GP tab files; good idea??

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Yesterday, I picked up a second instructional book/dvd that begins with essentially the same material, but includes both standard and tab notation. It was amazing to me how much faster I can play, with fewer errors, using the tab rather than the standard notation.

That's true, you can go faster when you don't know SN using tab.