Notifications
Clear all

The Middle Pickup

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@lukesatriani)
Topic starter  

I have an s-series Ibanez with passive humbuckers in the bridge and neck and a single-coil middle pickup. I rarely used to use the middle pickup until I started playing a few stratocasters, and loving the tone when trying all the different single-coil pickup positions.

I got a few questions: how often do guitarists use the middle pickup by itself as opposed to the positions that mix neck/middle and bridge/middle; can you get similar tones using humbuckers/middle as you can with single-coil/middle; and how would it sound to use active pickups instead of passive pickups when playing in the various pickup-positions?

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

this is all very subjective …