Use of mixolydian in blues?

13 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@simonhome-co-uk)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hey,
I've been wondering - how exactly is mixolydian used in blues? As in what sort of chords is it played over? Or Is it generally used with relative minor theory or what?

(@mattypretends116)
Honorable Member

I'm no expert, but it goes something like this. Take a typical blues in A: A7, D7 and E7 are the basic chords. Since they are major, you wouldn't readily think to use minor scales over them, but thats exactly what the blues are: minor melody over major harmony. It sounds good to us because its become so common place over the years; technically, an A7 chord isn't "right," since a G# is part of the A major scale, not G. But they obviously work!

That's where things start to get modal. The mixolydian mode is nothing but a major scale w/ a b7. Which will work quite nicely over our three dominant 7 chords present in a blues. So, one approach aside from minor pents would be to use major scales or major pents, and play the b7. Since there are three chords, you need to shift scales accordingly. So, D mixo over D7, E mixo over E7, ect.

Like I said, I haven't ventured into that sort of thing too much myself, but that's the theory behind it. Pick up the latest issue of Guitar Techniques w/Gary Moore on the cover, there is a big section on different blues approaches. Worth its weight in gold.

You brits have all the good resources. :wink:

"Contrary to popular belief, Clapton is NOT God. The prospect that he is God probably had a large hand in driving him to drugs and booze. Thanks everyone."

-Guitar World :lol:

ReplyQuote
(@amistad)
Eminent Member

Many thanks for the post! I'm really hungry to learn all of the blues that I can master, and I'll try to find that copy of Guitar Techniques.

Amistad
'gimme the blues, and lots of 'em!'

ReplyQuote
(@forrok_star)
Noble Member