Clear all

your partner , how do they deal with you playing guitar

49 Posts
40 Users
0 Likes
12.9 K Views
(@aaronj)
Eminent Member

He's not really my spouse, but my dad is kind of unsupportive of my guitarplaying. He thinks it takes away from my schoolwork, even though my grades haven't changed a bit and maybe have even improved. BTW welcome to guitarnoise, AaronJ! :)
Thanks for the welcome yoyo! 8)

Get Spotted Now!
www.InstantSpot.com

AJLCOM

ReplyQuote
(@kachman)
Estimable Member

When I started playing last year, my girlfriend at the time was really supportive. I know I must have sounded really bad, but she always looked at the good side and praised me for any little improvement. Everytime she was over she required that I play for her - which was great cos I wanted to anyway. Too bad we had other differences and broke up.

I'm dating someone else now and I see where you're coming from. Every time I pick up my guitar I notice her body movements getting all irritated. She doesn't hide the fact that she's jealous of my guitar - always makes comments about how i'm dating it and stuff. This isn't good cos now I'm back in touch with my old supportive ex via email and keep her informed of my progress as we're still kinda friends - and she's still encouraging and supportive.

Anyway, outside my guitar playing, I've broken down both their personalities, and my girlfriend now is really the selfish, pay attention to me and nothing else type, while my more supportive ex is the real partner type, like "here's whats going on in my life, support me, what's going on in your's and how can I help?"

So I guess its all about maturity and generousity. And yeah, I guess a beginner messing around can sound annoying - so add patience to that.

http://www.myspace.com/kachman

ReplyQuote
(@off-he-goes)
Noble Member

My last girlfriend was all for the guitar, but that is because she has a "thing" for guitar players. She was supportive and used to love it when I played for her.