13 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
 xg5a
(@xg5a)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hi,
I've got an Oscar Schmidt 335 copy, and would like to replace the pickups.(H-H configuration) However, there is no plastic cover on the back of the guitar behind the pots, and i'm not quite sure how to get to the volume pots to solder on the pickup leads. I'm experienced in installing pickups on solid-body guitars, but this is my first attempt at a hollowbody. Any help would be appreciated.

(@forrok_star)
Noble Member

I'm not familiar with that particular guitar, but I have seen other guitars were you have to remove the controls through the pickup slot. Connect everything together, slide the controls in and mount them ,then mount the pickups. I think I explained it right.

Joe

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

If I remember correctly, the controls, on a 335, have to come out through the lower f-hole.
As far as I know, the sustain block is wider than the pup, so there is only a wire-hole into the interior of the guitar.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
 xg5a
(@xg5a)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hmmm, taking the controls out of the f-hole seems logical, but i'm not sure how i'll get the tone controls and the output jack pack in their places when i'm done. I can't just take the volume pots out by themselves, since they are all wired together with very little extra wire. Does anyone have any suggestions about getting the parts back in their proper places?

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

Tie dental floss to the pots before you take them out. Use long enough pieces that it still hangs out through the holes after they're extracted. That helps guide them back into position.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member