Clear all

6-to-12 project...maybe

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@afterblast)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

So here's the deal, recently I got a fender showmaster, which is now my main guitar, replacing my squire affinity, which hasn't really gotton a lot of playtime since. What I have been thinking of doing is trying to convert the squire into an electric 12 string. I know this will mean that for starters it will need a new bridge, and that somehow I need to either get a new neck or figure out how to stick six extra tuners on the current one. What I don't know is, first whether the current neck can actually take the extra strain, and if it can, will cutting wood off of the headstock damage the neck or affect the sound of the guitar. The neck does have a good truss rod in it, which seems to have a fair amount of play in both directions, but as I have never done anything like this before I don't really know what to expect, so any input/advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

wherever you go, there you are.

(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

any input/advice would be GREATLY appreciated. This reader's opinion would be "form a different plan," but maybe I'm being over-cautious.
Since "extra light" 12-string sets can exert upwards of 300 pulnds of tension, and "light" sets 400+ pounds, that's a lot of strain on a guitar's neck. Trying to shoehorn six more tuners onto the existing headstock doesn't sound like much fun to me, but maybe that's just me. So since it's probably going to require a new neck, perhaps for reasons besides the headstock, can you find one that will fit properly in the neck socket on the body?