Clear all

Bit of help needed

12 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Okay, so I have played my current favourite guitar for about 6 years, and it has never had a set up.

I have noticed that there is a fair amount of relief in the neck, and the intonation is out.

I'm going to have a go at correcting this myself but I just want to make sure I am going to do it right :D

My plan is 1) adjust the truss rod until the neck is straight.
2) raise the bridge until there is no fret buzz
3) alter the intonation using the tiny screws behind the bridge that the strings rest on.
4) this should all be done with the strings on

I know these sound crazy questions, but I have never done this before, am I correct?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@trguitar)
Famed Member

Well, sort of. Fixing the neck relief may take care of the buzz. You may not need to adjust the action depending on the heigth you want. As for adjusting the intonation always do this with new strings. Old strings can affect the intonation so when you do restring it you will find it no longer intonates. I adjust my guitar trus rods with the strings on. It is probably best to losen them during adjustments but I don't always do this as I use such light strings. With a bass I always losen the strings if I am tightening the rod.

What guitar is it. I will find you some instructions and specs for particular guitars.

http://www2.gibson.com/Support/Tech-Tips/Basic-Guitar-Setup.aspx

http://www.fender.com/support/articles.php?section=articles&category=how-to-guides

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Thanks TR, thats a great help.