5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
 Hook
(@hook)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey!

A couple of days ago i intended to flatten the bridge to the body on my Squier standard strat because i never use the trem and wanted that increased sustain and tuning stability. I tried to tighten the two bridge screws so that the bridge came all way down, but one of the screws didnt go all the way down. I looks like the socket the screw is fitted in is to far up.

Anyone who has experienced this and know how fix it?

Anyway i gave up and tried to undo what i had done. But now i notice that the E and A string always is out of tune when i pick up the guitar. I figured that i hadnt adjusted the spring claw the way is was before when it was setup properly. So now i'm worried that i have created som kind of unbalance in the string tension wich will warp the neck... :oops:

Am i just paranoid or is there something to think about when adjusting the spring claws?

As you can see i'm a total noob when it comes to adjusting a guitar.

Thanks!

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Hook

Sorry to take so long getting to this. First, I want to congratulate you for attempting this adjustment on your guitar. The only way to learn this stuff is try it for yourself.

And you've learned a very valuable lesson when making any adjustment on your guitar:

ALWAYS MARK OR MAKE NOTE OF THE ORIGINAL POSITION OF AN ADJUSTMENT SCREW SO YOU CAN RETURN TO THAT POSITION IF NECESSARY.

You probably know that now. :D

OK, lets see if we can fix the problem. You actually have two problems. You want to block off your floating bridge because you don't use the bar and you want sustain.

There might be differing opinions on this, but I have done this by simply inserting a block of wood under the rear of the floating bridge. A floating bridge should be parallel to the body when the guitar is properly tuned. So....