Changed Sizes 10s to 9s won't stay in Tune

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@vanzant38)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

My brand new Schecter Omen 6.

I changed the strings from 10s to 9s. Now it wont stay in Tune.
I am no pro at this but I have been changing strings for over 10 years. But I have never changed the size of my strings.

It came to me out of tune, but I really didn't play it enough with the 10s on it to see if it would stay in tune with those.

Do I need to adjust the truss rod??? I have never done that and have heard I could damage my guitar by doing this.

Any thoughts.

Thanks!!

My dad would always talk about retirement, and allude to the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. And I say all you've got at the end of the rainbow is death. You're riding the rainbow right now. - Mark Borchardt

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

Ive never heard of anyone going to lighter strings before.

a few things could be occuring.
the obvious, forgive me, is the strings need to stretch out a bit.
the other is...
since you are used to 10's perhaps you are overpowering those wimpy 9's.
you may have to string them differently to hang on the post better.

just a thought.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@vanzant38)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Sorry, maybe I didn't give enough info. My fault. What I meant to say was that I am used to 9s and my new guitar came with 10s. So I changed them to 9s.

As far as hanging onto the post, that could very well be it. Maybe those tuners are a little different than the ones on my Strat. These are Grover Tuners and they are suppose to be very good. I will wait and see if they stretch out. I may put new strings on it in a few days and use a different method.

Thanks for your help!