Faulty Bass Output

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@lunchmeat)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

My bass is pretty screwed.

It's an ESP B50, PJ pickup style, 4 strings.

The pickups are loose and I think they need resoldering - the bridge pickup has low output, and the P pickup under the D and G strings isn't giving any real output.

The tone pot doesn't work. I turn it and I get crackles; I'm not even sure if I get that now.

The input jack, something is wrong with it; I'm actually not sure what it is. It works; it crackles a lot sometimes, but it works well enough. But it's still problematic.

Anyone have any sites about fixing up a bass? Google isn't retruning much, and I've never done this before, so idea/opinions/resources are much appreciated.

-lunchmeat

(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

My bass is pretty screwed.But we're not going to pronounce it "dead" yet. :wink:
The pickups are loose and I think they need resoldering - the bridge pickup has low output, and the P pickup under the D and G strings isn't giving any real output.Lots of things can get messed up with pickups, not just the wiring, but "mechanical stuff" like height screws, etc., too. Those adjustments might be the cause of your low output on certain strings.
The tone pot doesn't work. I turn it and I get crackles; I'm not even sure if I get that now.That could be dirt in the pot. (No, not like you were using your bass to dig in the yard; just enough little particles of "something" to make it noisy.) Sometimes some spray cleaner made for electronics will clear it out, but it might have to be replaced. A good cleaner is DeoxIT® from CAIG Laboratories, Inc. http://www.caig.com (They even make something called "AxeWipes," for cleaning strings.)