Clear all

HELP: installing pickup covers

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@brotha_down)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

hey my epiphone lp didnt come with pickup covers, so i went and bought a pair of nickle gibson covers..
so i wanna see if they fit and i think  i know what to do.. i need to take the strings off, remove pickup rings and put hte covers on... but i need help, i htink i know how to remove the strings from reading a few articles, but do i need to put new ones on after i take off the old ones?

also, is there any order i should take the strings off an put them back on in to prevent warping or nething?

im new at this so any help would be awesome

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

You can take the strings off in any order you like - you won't warp the neck. What you should remember to do is take a careful look at the bridge and stop tail - when all the strings are off, the stop tail will also come off (maybe the bridge as well).
Another consideration is whether the covers will fit over pups that weren't built to have covers fitted - but I'm guessing here.
You would be wise to put a new set of strings on, as they get worn and old - a new set will sound very different to old strings. I think Epi LPs come with 9-42's as standard.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@brotha_down)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

ya, my guitar isnt even 2 months old so i dont wanna buy new strings yet.. and im planning on going with 10's when i do switch, ive got an epi lp100, lowest model so it may be different than other epi lps', the part where the strings go thru at the bottom of the guitar just has holes that they slide thru so i dont think itll come off... i think ive got it figured out, ill prolly try it tonight.

oh ya, my pickups have a lot of space around them so im pretty sure theyll fit, but thanks for hte help!! :)