Notifications
Clear all

help please

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@stonester)
Topic starter  

hi all im a newbie and hope someone can help.
i came into the posession of a guitar that had no pups and no wiring. i have wired up guitars loads of times before and im very handy with a soldering iron. right this one was no different appart from i cant get rid of an earthing problem. you know the scenario, touch anything metal and it goes away. i know i have grounded everything,the pick ups,bridge all pots, jack socket etc all in a loop. ok, it got me so frustrated i thought i might have a dodgy jack socket or pot etc, so i replace all hardware and resolder everything but still got the problem. ok so now i shield the whole cavity then soldered the copper foil to ground. still there... grrrrrrrr, ok i thought it might be the pickups, so de-soldered one at a time, still there, desoldered both and still there. the diagram i followed is from seymour duncans website and know obviously its right. i have checked my wiring against it and all is correct, trust me, gone over it more times than i ever studied at school,not only that ,everything works as it should appart from this annoying buzz. my guitar leads and amp are all fine as i use them on other guitars without this problem...any ideas appart from the obvious in what else can cause this?

(@xylembassguitar)
Trusted Member

Are the pickups internally shielded/grounded? If not, you could put some copper shielding tape under the pickup so the magnet touches the tape, then solder a wire onto the shielding tape and ground that.

Xylem Handmade Basses and Guitars

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

First of all, are you certain this is not simply a very (electrically) noisy environment? No problems with other guitars?