Notifications
Clear all

Help Soldering Toggle Switch

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@cantsolder)
Topic starter  

Hi, I want to replace my epiphone toggle switch with a gibson replacement and I have mapped out where the wires go, etc, and have access to a soldering iron and solder. My one problem is that I have no knowledge of how to solder and do not really have any place I can take my guitar to get this done. So I was wondering if someone could kindly give my step by step information on how to solder the new switch with the wires. Thank you :D

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

This thread might help you get started:
http://forums.guitarnoise.com/viewtopic.php?t=24035

But PRACTICE on spare parts first.

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@cantsolder)
Topic starter  

I am still slightly confused, I am going to run through what I plan to do, and will someone correct me where I am doing something wrong, thanks :) :
1.clip wire tips closest to original soldering job on stock switch.
2.Remove switch
3.take wires and wrap them around their associated holes.
4.Take soldering iron, wipe on wet sponge, heat it.
5.while heating, apply small bit of .062 rosin-core solder to iron, then wipe off on sponge.
6.Take heated iron, connect it to both the wire and eyelet for a second and then apply .062 diameter rosin-core for a second on to area.
7.repeat steps 5 amd 6 for other eyelets
8.Let it cool
9.reinstall
10.Done

ReplyQuote
 xg5a
(@xg5a)
Honorable Member

I am still slightly confused, I am going to run through what I plan to do, and will someone correct me where I am doing something wrong, thanks :) :
1.clip wire tips closest to original soldering job on stock switch.
2.Remove switch
3.take wires and wrap them around their associated holes.
4.Take soldering iron, wipe on wet sponge, heat it.
5.while heating, apply small bit of .062 rosin-core solder to iron, then wipe off on sponge.