Clear all

High pitched ringing/harmonic in electric guitars

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@ausguitar33)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I have a strange issue that has arisen with my electric guitars. I have been noticing a high pitched, ringing sound (possibly harmonic) coming from my guitars whenever I play the top 2 - 3 strings. I first thought it was my new amp, as that's when I first noticed it, but I've since tried through different amps and DI with my computer, and the problem is still there.

I made a soundcloud account and have uploaded some recordings which demonstrate the problem: https://soundcloud.com/guitar-stuff-716906348 , including a track through a high pass filter at around 3khz which I think shows the problem.

I have been playing for nearly 12 years and have never heard this on these two guitars before (which I had had for 7+ years each). I have gone back and listened to both studio and live recording with both guitars, and cannot find any evidence of this problem occurring, yet both guitars started doing it at the same time.

One guitar is a fender strat (split coil dimarzio pickups), the other a 70's les paul copy (seymour duncan hot PAF pickups). I haven't made any changes to the guitars since I bought them.

Things I have tried:
- new strings
- new leads
- different amps/DI/brand new valves in the amp I have
- deadening the strat springs with cloth
- lowering the pickups
- deadening the strings behind the bridge and behind the nut

I am hoping someone may some ideas, as I feel out of options other than to buy brand new guitars!

Thanks

(@jonahpeacock)

I have experienced this as well! And everyone said it was just a new string fix, but that never seemed to solve the problem. I have discovered the issue though, and it happens at the bridge nut.