Skip to content
Laney VC15 amp dies...

Notifications
Clear all

Laney VC15 amp dies... Then lives again!

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@niklas)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I am new to tube amps and could use a little help. I bought a Laney VC15 last year and living in an apartment I havn't been able to try it out a lot. However, when I'm using it now the sound suddenly dies after 10-15 minutes. So I turn it off, wait a couple of minutes, put it back on and it works again. Play another 10-15 minutes, the same thing happens. Yes, it is a bit annoying.

I'm sure I won't be having any trouble getting it fixed at the store I bought it because it only was bought six months ago. But it would be nice to know if it something that is easy to fix instead of having to carry it on public transport in to town.

So, does anyone recognize this problem? If feels exactly like it turns itself off because it's overheated but that would be ridicolous when I am playing with the volume at one.

"Talent is luck. The important thing in life is courage."

(@niklas)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

So if nobody on this forum know what the problem could be, does anyone know a good place where people would know, like an amptech forum?

I ordered a couple of power tubes to see if it helps, and I'm waiting for them now. However, I am a little bit hesitant to changing them if the amp is broken and there could be dangerous voltages in the amp.

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Sorry I don't know anything about the amp but I was thinking the same thing (overheating) and then saw you had the same idea. I wouldn't discount that as the problem just because you are running the amp at 1 anytime there is current running through a circuit you are going to generate heat, and it might be that one of the components (wish I could tell you which one) is overly sensitive to it or is damaged.