Clear all

MAKING CUTAWAY DEEPER IN STRAT-TYPE GUITAR

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@stengah)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I recently ordered a Washburn WG587 7 string, and i've done a truss rod adjustment, set the action and checked the intonation. I also sanded the neck down a bit to give it a thinner profile. Since its a cheap guitar i was thinking about making the cutaway deeper to access the bottom frets easier, but i've never done anything like that before, and was wondering wether it would weaken the neck joint since its a bolt-on neck. If I do that i'll probabably sand the body and stain it. Has anyone here tried to increase the cutaway on a guitar before?

(@trguitar)
Famed Member

Never did anything like that. Don't think I'd want to either. Is it that hard to get to the upper frets?

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

It might weaken the joint there.

I took a look at the WG587 online; the cutout goes right up to the last fret; shouldn't be too hard to access it as it is. Usually not being able to play on the upper frets is an issue with thumb/wrist position. You could certainly try deepening the cutout but unless you draw it out carefully it might look a bit weird. It's a pretty nice shape the way it is.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I'd cut my thumb off before I would cut up my strat.!

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@stengah)
Trusted Member
Topic starter