Skip to content
Mosquito Repellent ...

Notifications
Clear all

Mosquito Repellent & Guitar Varnish (HELP)

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@rpayne88)
Topic starter  

Hello could anybody give me some advice,

I'm currently traveling in Cambodia with my Simon & Patrick Songsmith Folk Guitar. Because of the ever pesky mosquitoes out here I have to douse myself in mosquito repellent which mainly consists on a chemical called DEET. I believe that the DEET on my fingers have led to the neck of the guitar loosing it's varnish. I'm by no means an expert in guitar repair, in fact I have only recently become proficient enough to take the guitar traveling with me, but now I'm scared if I leave it that it may rot away the neck. Am I over reacting? What is the best course of action to take considering the problem. If all I need to do is re-varnish what can I use? Would nail polish suffice? Sorry if that's a stupid question, but I guess that's why I'm here. Any advice would be fantastic.
Below are the details of my Guitar that I copied from the manufacturers website:

Songsmith Folk
Back & Sides : Red Wild Cherry
Top : Spruce (Select Pressure Tested Solid Top)
Fingerboard & Bridge : Rosewood
Finish : Semi Gloss Varnish Burst Finish
Tusq® nut & saddle by Graphtech

Thanks very much,

Johanna.

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

DEET is hard on many plastics and polymer finishes.

As far as I know it doesn't harm wood, just the finish.

That said, DEET residue on the wood might make it difficult to get a good finish repair, unless the residue is properly cleaned.

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@imalone)
Reputable Member