Clear all

Piecing together a Strat.

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@aircooled)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm still fairly new to guitars and trying to learn this game. My biggest problem is right now I have a BC Rich Virgin which I had purchased mainly because I figured if I wanted to learn, I wanted to make sure it wasn't something I was going to drop a bunch of money into only to bail on it within a few months. It's gone beyond that and although I don't think the BC Rich is a bad guitar in itself (aside from the paint mostly), I don't feel comfortable with it. Recently over at a friends house, he had a Fender Stratocaster that I could pick up and it just felt much more natural, but it didn't feel perfect for a reason.

I'm wondering if you guys know of any books or good references to the history on the Strat, I'd like to know every inch about them and piece one together myself. I'm sort of picky so to say because if I haven't touched every single part of, and know exactly what everything does, I'm not happy with something I own and I'll just get rid of it. So if anybody knows some good references I could pick up so I could research and understand this a little better before I start building, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Aircooled - I like your name. Welcome.

Just saying hi for now, let the others have at it, with their welcomes and whatever words, wiser and wittier than mine. :lol:

Now that I've had my play with the letter "w" as in w-acky, w-hy don't you look up Ron Kirn in Jacksonville Florida and see if you can get his older, but never outdated little book for a start, on how to build a solid body electric guitar?

http://www.ronkirn.com/

http://stratoblogster.blogspot.com/2009/02/ron-kirns-strat-build-tutorial.html

Other wisdom will follow I'm sure, and I have the standard Stratocaster Book too, but it doesn't say how to build one, it's about the history and specs, with plenty of pics.