Clear all

Quite a SHOCKING Situation

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@morbe)
Topic starter  

Hello all,
I'm new to the forum here and been a long time guitarist and a in the past two years been brushing up on my vocal skills that landed me a lead singers gig. I have been practising and jamming with this group for about two years now. I have never had any issues with my equipment before and we practice in houses that are built no more than 5 years ago. I have a peavey Delta Blues 210, the PA is a Phonic PA. When we hooked up and and started playing I was playing my guitar and and when I placed my lips on my mic I felt a light shock, passing it off as a static electricity discharge. I approached the Mic Again and again I was shocked on my lips yet again. I made this very clear to my band mates and the other guitarist thought it may be a new vocal pedal that I was using. TC-Helicon Mic Mechanic. I doubt it would be that its only 9 volts? but it doesn't have a ground, but its not high powered I dont see why it would cause a shock. My Guitar amp was plugged into a wall out let that I checked with an outlet checker and Im sure that at one point and time I checked all the outlets and there all good. The amp and vocal pedal were plugged into the same outlet. But when I looked at the PA it was plugged into a power strip that looked as if a few outlets on the strip had smoke burns. this power strip was plugged into another power strip that didnt look any better. So I demanded that the PA be removed from the questionable looking power strips. and into another out let, and it was. And everything was fine. I'm sure that everything is fine but this darn internet has got me worried. Since then I read that going wireless is the safest way to protect myself from shock. So I have purchased and wireless guitar systems and now looking into getting a Wireless Mic. I have checked my mic and PA by checking to make sure that I have continuity from the ground plug and metal on the frame and it