Clear all

Setting Intonation

14 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@vegas_jay)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I decided last night to try and properly set the intonation on my guitar. For a tuner, I used the AP Tuner software and ran a line from the headphone out on my amp to the microphone in on my computer. Playing the guitar this way, the tone comes out over the computer speakers and sounds fine.

I was able to set my intonation pretty well. Most of the strings I got to be off by only a few cents at the 12th fret. The problem is the low E (1st) string. It's sharp by about 15 cents at the 12th fret, but the bridge peice for that string is moved down as far as it can go.

Is there any way to get more adjustment power for it? Or is being out of tune by that amount ok?

The guitar sounds fine to my ear, but I am probably not the best judge of proper tone, since I am just starting out with this whole thing.

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

If it is a tune-o-matic type bridge you can remove and reverse the saddle to get a little more travel. Other types of saddles can be done the same way assuming the saddle is angled one way or the other.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@vegas_jay)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

The bridge is a FAT10 on an Ibanez GRX40 guitar. This is a picture of the tremelo unit from the Ibanez web page that shows the bridge piece:

I have adjusted the screw on the saddle for the 1st string so that it is as far down as it can go, but I am still off by a bit.

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

I am not real familiar with this guitar but typically with a floating trem you need to make sure the trem is level with the body before you can get a good intonation adjustment. Make sure the bridge is level and if it isn't there should be instructions in the manual on how to adjust it.

DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@vegas_jay)
Trusted Member
Topic starter