Notifications
Clear all

Stratocaster Neck issues

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@musclesmarinara)
Topic starter  

Hoping that someone can give some insight here. I have been a touring musician for 17 years and I basically use one guitar, my "frankenstein" strat. It has an original '62 slab board neck bolted onto the body of an 80's '62 reissue. Every spring and summer the neck freaks out when humid weather first hits. Sometimes the neck straightens or back bows, sometimes it goes the other way. Either way, I have to tighten or loosen the truss rod a few times a year to correct this problem, and the guitar seems to take a day or two to "settle". It's a huge pain in the ass. Is there a right or a wrong way to acclamate a guitar to humid climates? We play a lot of gigs outside and like I said, this happens every year like clockwork. Any advice would be appreciated.

-Mickey

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member