Clear all

String Changing Question

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@joehempel)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

I've purchased a new Stagg SW201 3/4N, and it plays wonderfully, and the strings don't need changing quite yet, but I do have a question about that for when I do want to change them.

I read on here somewhere that if you go with a lighter gauge string, you will have to adjust the truss rod in the neck to keep the guitar in top working order. Now, I'm new to the guitar, and I really don't want to be messing around with that by myself. My question (finally) is do I really need to do that? If so, do most guitar shops offer doing something like that free of charge?

Any help is great.

Thanks!

In Space, no one can hear me sing!

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

It depends, and it depends.

I've changed string gauge on guitars (usually going heavier, just my tatse) in the past where it hasn't been necessary to make any adjustments. other times, it is necessary. I wouldn't worry too much if you're going lighter, just try it and see if it works. if you're going heavier (as I do), you have to watch out for the fact that thsi is putting more tension on the neck and bridge of the guitar than the previous set of strings, so checking that for a few days afterwards is important to save on potantially costly damage. but going lighter means less tension, so the only really issues are how the strings sound and feel to play once you've restrung. Putting lighter gauge strings on can (but doesn't always) lead to some buzzing, noticable action change, etc, etc. But it wont do anything that can damage your guitar, so its only going to result in a minor personal inconvenience in the worst case scenario.